BJP grabs Rajouri Garden, AAP lost deposit

April 13, 2017 15:05
BJP grabs Rajouri Garden, AAP lost deposit

In the by-polls to 10 assembly seats in 8 states, BJP has registered a significant victory. The winning spree continues for BJP, while AAP which has won 67 out of 70 seats in Delhi assembly has been routed out in the by-election in the Rajouri constituency.

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidate Harjeet Singh has lost the Assembly election by-poll from Rajouri Garden in Delhi, he came third and lost his deposit.

Congress’s Kalale Keshavamurthy has defeated BJP’s V Srinivas Prasad, a former Minister, in Nanjangud by a margin of 21,334 votes, while Geetha Mahadev Prasad, wife of former Minister Mahadev Prasad, who was the Congress candidate in Gundlupet, beat her BJP rival Niranjan Kumar by 10,887 votes.

BJP retained the Bandhavgarh Assembly seat in Madhya Pradesh after defeating rival Congress by a margin of over 25,000 votes. At Ater in Bhind district, BJP candidate Arvind Singh Bhadoria was leading over his nearest Congress rival Hemant Katare by 637 votes.

In the Kanthi-Dakshin [South] by-election in Purba [East] Medinipur district in south Bengal, ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) is comfortably ahead of its nearest rival by a margin of about 40,000 votes. Significantly Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has replaced the Communists and the Congress in Kanthi Dakshin, once considered a bastion of Communist Party of India (CPI).

BJP candidate Ranoj Pegu has won the Dhemaji Assembly by-election in Assam defeating his nearest Congress rival Babul Sonowal by 9,285 votes.

BJP candidate Shobha Rani is leading by 22,602 votes after ten rounds of counting in the Dholpur Assembly bypoll in Rajasthan.

BJP candidate Dr. Anil Dhiman won the Bhoranj (SC) Assembly seat in Himachal Pradesh by 8,290 votes.

By Premji

If you enjoyed this Post, Sign up for Newsletter

(And get daily dose of political, entertainment news straight to your inbox)

Rate This Article
(0 votes)